I Want My Blueberries

The blueberry bushes are doing nicely in the backyard this year. If I have learned from experience, as soon as the berries ripen and are ready to be picked, the birds will come for them. My neighbors (whom I adore) enjoy birdwatching and have several bird feeders, so I know they will be around.  My babysitter gave me another bush for Mother’s Day. She said she thought it would be cute to go outside with my toddler and see him pick blueberries (she is the best babysitter ever). The stakes have gotten higher, I want my blueberries this year.

I am going to try this bird-ball predator looking thingee. It seems kind of ridiculous and if it does work, I think some stickers or paint on a dollar-store beach ball and a piece of string would be a more frugal solution than the nine dollars it costs on amazon.

“Is this a joke? Let’s play with it.”

I have some netting at the ready too. But I wonder if the beach ball will work…

“Get off my lawn.”

26 thoughts on “I Want My Blueberries

  1. I have the same problem here, i love birds in the garden but not eating my blueberries! I put netting over them until ive eaten them all, seems to stop them, i cant wait to see your blueberry recipes as well,x

  2. I know what you mean about wanting your berries – I’ve lost beautiful perfectly ripe red currants to the local bird population, and as much as I love them, I love my currants too!! And I’m loving the bird scarer 🙂

  3. Sorry about the birds–we used to have raspberry bushes so I understand. We also had a squirrel and tomato ‘situation’ which we never resolved. I hope this balloon does the trick!

  4. This is just wonderful. Wish you all the luck in keeping your crop of blueberries, as they are one of the best things in the world. Do share your results!

  5. I hope you have luck with the scary balloon. I have twenty six wild blueberry bushes that surround our orchard but barely get enough berries for one pie each year. At our cottage in Maine we have wild low bush blueberries and it is the squirrels and chipmunks that get them all. I end up buying my blueberries.

  6. Looking forward to hearing the results. It’s not the feeding of the birds that’s the problem (because you know you’re doing your bit for nature) – it’s the blueberry coloured bird poo that gets splattered everywhere that you just CAN’T get out of things! lol

Share your thoughts

