Shortbread Buttons

Shortbread has always struck me as having somewhat of an air of refinement. With its buttery and delicate sandy crumb, it makes me think “afternoon tea”, even though I might just be standing in the kitchen having a nibble. There are plenty of variations on the traditional shortbread, here I used cardamom and meyer lemon. I like how the spicy scent of cardamom plays with of the floral essence of the meyer lemon.  I used my insta-read thermometer instead of a fork to prick the bite-sized discs into ‘buttons’ for a little twist. I chilled the dough between rolling, cutting out and putting in the oven (it was a warm day) to ensure that they did not spread during baking. It is best to use freshly ground cardamom, as a ground spice it loses its flavor quickly.

Adapted from the recipe ‘Lemon Poppy Seed Shortbread’ from The Last Course by Claudia Flemming.

Meyer Lemon Cardamom Shortbread

1 cup (2 sticks) room temperature unsalted butter

3/4 cup confectioners’ sugar

2 cups AP flour, sifted

1 1/2 tsp fresh meyer lemon juice

1 and 1/2 TBS zest of meyer lemon

1/2 tsp vanilla

1/2 tsp salt

1 1/2 tsp ground cardamom

1. Using an electric mixer, beat the butter and sugar until creamy and smooth, about 2 minutes. Add the lemon juice, zest and vanilla and beat well.

2. In a bowl, combine the flour, ground cardamom and salt.  Add the dry ingredients to the butter mixture and mix until combined. Form the dough into an approximately 1-inch thick disk, wrap in plastic wrap, and chill for at least 3 hours and up to 3 days or freeze for up to 2 months.

3. Preheat the oven to 300 degrees F. Roll the dough between two sheets of wax paper or parchment to a 1/4 inch-thick rectangle (about 10-x 12 inches). If the dough seems soft, return it to the refrigerator to chill for an additional 30 minutes. Cut out buttons with a 1 1/4 inch cutter (larger is fine too). Place  1 inch apart on the an ungreased baking sheet or parchment paper. Prick the shortbread with a wooden skewer (or food thermometer) and chill for another 5-10 minutes. Bake until pale golden on bottom, 20-25 minutes. Let sit for five minutes on baking sheet before transferring to a wire rack to cool.

Makes 48 small buttons.

14 thoughts on “Shortbread Buttons

  1. Thanks again for the ‘o’ correction! That really did make me laugh.
    These are so cute. I love cardamom. Was actually going to make that the 3rd macarOn flavor but couldn’t pull it off.
    Perfect tea biscuit.

  2. I really want to make these cookies. Here’s an unrelated question. I love how your photos focus so clearly on the food in front and are fuzzy in the background. Do you have a fancy camera and lense? (As opposed to my little point and shoot that pains me so.)

    • Thanks, I use an advanced point and shoot camera that has one feature on it (among some other nifty features, that I haven’t learned yet) that allows me to choose what I want to focus on, instead of autofocus. The downside is it doesn’t have a viewfinder like DSLRs do and I can’t put any other lenses on it, but I am having fun with it.

  3. These are adorable. I am in a shortbread phase at the moment and will definetely try this flavor combination.
    PS. I love the name of your blog, it is both descriptive and darling.

Share your thoughts

