many firsts… to make a shirt

I saw an example of the Oliver + S sketchbook shirt inside Intown Quilters a few weeks ago and on a whim bought the pattern to make one for my little guy.  I made the short sleeve version of the shirt with mandarin collar, instead of  the long sleeve option which has a normal fold-over collar and sleeve plackets- it looked much more complicated.

 I sewed my first shirt yoke ( didn’t even know that word before!), a placket with buttons, (and button holes, whee!), attached sleeves by using a finicky gathering stitch ( I think I should have loosened the tension on the lower threads and didn’t, and attached the collar by hand. All of these steps took much longer than it probably should have, as I poured over the instructions many times over, plus I had to get comfortable on my new sewing machine I got a few months ago (I’ve ditched my Brother and have moved on to the world of Bernina, so far it sews like a dream).

I’d love to take another class and learn how to do all these techniques correctly, I feel like I’m walking around in the dark sometimes,  but I had so much fun, discovering how to do new things by myself too.  If I were smart, I’d make another shirt very soon, while all this experience is fresh in my head. I’d make the short sleeve version with a real collar next time, as I prefer that style to the mandarin style collar.

 


One thought on “many firsts… to make a shirt

  1. Ths shirt came out beautifully! I love how a hard project never intimidates you! He looks so dapper in it :). Can’t wait to hear how you’re loving the Bernina!

Share your thoughts

