linen drawstring gift bag

I made this drawstring bag for a large and irregularly-shaped baby shower gift. Before I got started, I laundered the linen twice in warm, to (hopefully) shrink it to it’s full potential. I used french seams as linen tends to fray more than cotton, used wonder-under for the bird appliques and plenty of  bias tape. I folded the bias tape in half and sewed to make it narrower for the drawstrings. I learned that a good amount of drawstring material is three times the width of the bag.

5 thoughts on “linen drawstring gift bag

  1. Awesome! I’ve been thinking I should sew up some gift bags to save on paper waste (now that I’ve moved to Calif. I think about things like that) and even bought fabric for it before Christmas but never got around to making them.

    I really like the bias tape fabric, it’s very pretty! How do you like working with the linen? I’ve only ever used it for cross-stitch.

    • Thanks! Although I can’t say if the recipient will repurpose it, it would make a fine travel laundry bag too…
      I spray-starched into submission when ironing and it didn’t’ cause any problems 🙂

Share your thoughts

