why I love summer, reason #762….

Eggplant from my neighbor’s yard (They are away for awhile and asked me to water their garden and help myself to whatever veggies were ready). I sprayed the slices with a little olive oil and put under the broiler at 425 for about 12-13 minutes…uber-easy. The slices were well-salted and left out to “sweat” for an hour beforehand to take away some of the bitterness. I had done a taste test a few weeks ago, one batch just straight into the oven and one with the salting and husband and I concluded that it was worth the effort. Even better would have been to slather the slices heavily in olive oil, and marinate them overnight with herbs, but I’m trying to keep things light.

Oil, balsamic vinegar, basil from the window box and a fork scraping of goat cheese. Yum.

Share your thoughts