Meyer Lemon Muffins

Oh meyer lemon,  how I love thee.  So glad to have found Darla Cooks and Gastronomy pointing me to this recipe from the LA times. You use the entire lemon, the juice, the rind and pith– they are sweet enough to eat all of it!  A blender or food processor is used to chop the lemons up and in they go, with the other wet ingredients, hand-mixed into the dry. These were lovely and tangy, not super tart. I would make these again in a heartbeat.

The sprinkling of cinnamon and sugar and a thin slice of meyer lemon on top make for an inviting mini tea cake version.

About biscuitsandbobbins

Lover of food. Enjoys making things with hands. Taker of daily walks. Curious learner of new things. Loves an adventure.
This entry was posted in food and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Meyer Lemon Muffins

  1. Darcy says:

    Ok, I’ll admit I am intrigued by the idea of using the whole lemon! Where did you find the Meyer lemons? And I’m laughing because I think we have the exact same counters!

  2. jodijojo says:

    I got them at Whole Foods. I went in there for 3 lemons and spent 72 dollars. oops.

  3. delicio8 says:

    Oh I love Meyer lemons. I wish they were available year round. They smell almost herby to me. I use them in sweet and savory and I would probably eat them raw if i wasn’t always saving them for a certain recipe! These muffins look just darling!

  4. Thanks Delicio! I haven’t used them in savory before, but I saw a recipe for lemon chicken and orzo soup the other day on tartlette’s blog. I think that would be great with meyer lemons! I have a few more sitting on my counter, but I think they want to become lemon curd..:)

  5. These muffins are so cute! The lemon piece on top makes them too elegant and they seem so delicious!

    Cheers
    Choc Chip Uru

  6. CJ says:

    I absolutely love love lemons…great to see the use of the whole thing!

Share your thoughts

